Tomcat

It’s a game I play with your ghost.

You hide

 

and I long to catch you.

 

It might have been the copper leaves

that fooled me first.

Or later,

as I squinted in that Autumn sun,

the same one that brought

piles of pine needles to life

like little limbs and pointed ears.

 

I remember looking

once

twice at the top of the stairs,

where a towel

had dropped

crumpled In your spot.

 

But still I haven’t caught you.

 

Not on the wall by the gate

Or on the bed where you used to linger

begging to be fed, clawing my skin

as I read to Dylan.

Or warning your sister you were growing.

She’d throw hisses

and swats to remind you

that you were a kitten

 

Time passes

yet you…

you will stay a kitten

and I don’t know why I play this game

where I look and you stay hidden.

splat

Leave a Reply

