Pureheart

The Boys

Scared. Daddy I’m scared

you whisper, edging nearer to me,

too young to care how it might look.

You plug your hands into my ribs

and I hear the words tumble from your lips

onto my shirt like tears.                You dig in,

unaware of how your head hurts my chest.

 

It starts again… and you try so hard to watch

last seconds before you flinch,

watch, flinch again and freeze

Scared. Scared.

I turn your head away as you return to me

Feeling each of your tiny breaths

in a cuddle I could never leave, your chest against my chest.

Leave a Reply

